asurprisecalling

Following our calling to the Dominican Republic

Pollo Guisado

1 Comment

When we were in the states in December, I held a cooking class for those who wanted to learn how to make a typical Dominican dinner.  We made Pollo Guisado and Moro de guandules.  At the time, I thought that guisado meant gravy.  I have now learned that it means stew.  I needed to clarify that.  Anywho…I told all in attendance that I would post the recipe and ingredients on the blog but never did.  Then the other day, I had a friend message me asking for a Dominican recipe.

Ok…first, let’s STOP right there….SOMEONE MESSAGED ME ASKING FOR A RECIPE!  I was so excited.  No one ever does that.  I literally use to google how long to boil an egg.  Anyway, after that miracle happened, I thought it would be a good way to “show” her how to make it and finally do this post.

Today, I am going to attempt to show you how to cook Pollo Guisado.  (I will do a separate post for Moro de guandules, which is what you typically serve with it…on another day.  I cannot make promises on how long that will take…since this one has taken almost 6 months)

Ingredients:

Bone in chicken (I typically buy a whole chicken from Aurora and get her to cut it up for me…but my “grocery store” looks a bit different than yours probably does)

Vegetable oil

red pepper

ahi verde (I found one in a grocery store in the US. It’s called a cubanelle pepper. It’s a bit pricey so maybe you could substitute a banana pepper.)

Here’s a picture of what it looks like:

cubanelle-pepper-631x449

onion

celery

garlic cloves (I use about 5 and mince them)

Cilantro (fresh is best and optional)

sugar (raw is best)

oregano (I use the dry stuff)

tomato paste

red wine (optional: I think that it makes it tastes better but it’s preference on this)

water

Adobo seasoning

Sazon Goya

“Sopita” (Dona Gallina)

Sazon completo

For those last 4 seasonings, I am able to find all but the “sopita” in the states.  Check a latino grocery for that.  Here’s a picture of those seasonings to help you:

IMG_6404

First, chop all of your vegetables. Mince your garlic and add to the vegetables. Add about 1/2 cup of wine, about 5 “sopitas” (Dona Gallina), Oregano, one pack of Sazon Goya, Adobe seasoning (about 5 shakes), and Sazon Completo (about 1/2 a capful).  Add about a cup of water and mix all of that together with the chicken in a big bowl.

In a deep pot, pour about 3-4 tablespoons of vegetable oil and heat.  Once it’s really hot, add about 2-3 tablespoons of sugar.  DO NOT USE A SPOON TO STIR THIS MIXTURE!  It will harden on your spoon like candy.  In order to “stir”, you will need to get potholders and swirl the oil around in the pot to coat all of the sugar.  Then do it every once in awhile to keep it from burning.  You are wanting to get a nice orange colored substance, like in the picture below.

IMG_4847Once it is this color, start adding the chicken one piece at a time.  BE VERY CAREFUL!  It’s hot and will pop grease at you due to the water on the chicken.  Sear that side of each piece really good, then flip them over.  Then add 1/2 of the vegetables and seasoning mix.  Keep the other portion for later.  At this point, your chicken should look like this:

IMG_4848

With the remainder of the vegetable mix, stir in about 2 tablespoons of tomato paste.

When the liquid in the pot with the chicken starts thickening, add the remainder of the vegetable mix to it.  I typically cover the pot at this point and let it cook for a bit, stirring occasionally.  I also don’t have exact measurements for the spices because I add more to taste, as it is cooking.  I like mine a bit salty.  It is easiest to know what you are shooting for if you have had this dish before.  If you haven’t, I just suggest adding more spices to your taste.  If I accidentally get it too salty, I will add more water.  Often I add more water and spices to get more stew.  I like to pour it over my Moro.

Allow it to cook covered for a bit.  When it’s a nice brown color all over, I uncover it and cook it until the sauce is a good consistently, not too thick and not too watery.  The chicken should be practically falling off the bone also.  It should look like this:

IMG_4849

I typically serve this with Moro de guandules and a fresh salad.  Most Dominicans also add potato salad.  Dominican potato salad is so yummy, but I haven’t learned to make it yet.

I hope this is a good explanation on how to cook Pollo Guisado.  If you have any questions, put them in the comment section below, and I will try to answer.  Also, I just really like comments!

One thought on “Pollo Guisado

  1. Pingback: Moro de guandules | asurprisecalling

Leave a Reply

