asurprisecalling

Following our calling to the Dominican Republic

We’re in!

8 Comments

Hi all!  We are finally in our house, electricity is working, and we have internet…at this exact moment.  It is the DR and that could change before I get this post typed!  Here is what we have been up to:

When we first arrived in the DR, we stayed with our friends, Melanie and Fernando, in Santo Domingo.  They were so gracious to allow our 2 crazy dogs and us to stay with them from Tuesday until Saturday.  They helped us get phones and a truck…and gave us lots of good pointers about living here.  Thank you, Melanie and Fernando.  The girls really enjoyed playing with their precious daughter, Tessa.

We moved into our house on Saturday.  Melanie, who works for Re-Vision, had purchased the most beautiful table for our dining room, beds, and gorgeous rocking chairs for our front porch.  She was still working toward getting the rest of the furniture.  It actually worked out great because we had extra space to put boxes while trying to get everything organized.  We lost electricity around 6:00 that night, had no internet, and no working refrigerator to store food.  Interestingly enough, we weren’t stressed out about it at all!  God is definitely holding us and giving us strength that we alone would never have!

We have friends that live in Cabrera about 10 minutes from the beach.  They asked us if we would like to come up, watch the Super Bowl, and stay overnight with them.  Cabrera is about 3.5 hours from where we live.  We figured “Why not?”.  We had no electricity and the kids were about at their breaking point.  Our friends have 2 kids so it would be nice for them to play with kids that speak English!  We loaded up the kids and 2 dogs and headed north.  It really was a gr-8 break from all of the madness and gave us just enough time to recharge our own batteries!  The beaches there are postcard beautiful!

When we got home, Fernando and his crew were busy getting things working properly.  We are so thankful that he has taken such pride in this house and such good care of us! Our electricity has been working gr-8!  We still haven’t figured out the refrigerator situation. It only works when the city electricity is on, which is only about 5 hours out of the day.  Originally, we were getting a propane refrigerator but they are crazy expensive, and we don’t think they are worth it.

Slowly, we are getting the house organized, and it really is starting to feel like home.  We have WAY too much stuff for this little space…and all of our stuff still isn’t here.  The remainder is coming around the 15th of February.  Most of that stuff is the craft items and home decor.  As much as I would LOVE to already have my decor, I am kinda glad it isn’t here yet so I can focus on organizing a much smaller space than we had in the states.

The girls will start 1/2 day school at the private school tomorrow.  They will do their American studies (homeschooling) in the morning and then go to the private school from 2-5.  Please pray that this is an easy transition for them.  No one speaks any English at the school, and the girls know very little Spanish.  They are already little celebrities with the kiddos in the village…and is absolutely precious!

Mo has been crazy busy.  I don’t think that I have ever seen him so stressed out.  He has been trying to figure out how to drive in the city.  I almost want to post of video of the crazy madness that they call driving.  He is so brave!  He says that his biggest challenge is communication…which is odd…because he speaks Spanish so well!

Dare I say it…I have actually been enjoying myself!  I have met many of my neighbors.  They have been extremely helpful showing me where to get the things that I need.  They don’t call the women “housewives” here.  They call them “Lovers of the home”.  I really like that and love to see the joy they seem to take in their homes and chores.  These ladies are hardcore, tough-as-nails REAL women!!!  Every single day, they cook breakfast, get the kids to school, sweep, mop, wash laundry, hang it to dry, then cook a HUGE meal for lunch because everyone comes home for lunch.  Laundry is HARD!  I described the process on THIS POST.  The other day, I did not finish my “chores” until almost 4:00.  I looked out my windows and saw all the others women were sitting around chatting with one another.  They had finished all their chores before lunchtime!  Yes, comparison is a joy-killer in ALL countries!   I decided to give myself a break because I had a meeting at the school that morning, another meeting with the lady that cooks for our mission teams, and people were in and out of our house fixing things, PLUS I homeschooled the girls that morning.

I have so much more that I want to share, but this post is already insanely long!  I have tons of pictures that I want to post also.  Hopefully, we will have internet tomorrow so I can post again.

God really is good!  He has provided for us in so many ways to help make this transition easier.  He has guarded and protected us.  He has comforted us and provided a peace that transcends all reasoning.  This move has been STRESSFUL and there has been  LOTS  some yelling!  At the end of the day, our family is intact, laughing, and settling into this new lifestyle.  Thanks for all of your prayers!  God is hearing them and taking gr-8 care of these cRaZy Ludlams!!!

8 thoughts on “We’re in!

  1. I can just see the smile on your face as you type this! Thanks for the update! Prayers still coming your way.

  2. I love you my friend. This is such a beautiful story to wAtch. I’m so glad you guys took a break and got to see the Super Bowl. Sounds like things are starting to settle in. I can’t wait to see the pictures. We also need to schedule a Skype date sometime soon. Praying for you this week. Hugs to everyone.

  3. Lovers of the home, I LOVE that! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful adventure. I find myself having to re read your blogs, it’s like I’m so excited to see one, I read it too fast to take it all in, just reading once, so i have to read twice. lol May God continue to bless this chapter of your life!

    • I love it, Ticha! Thank you so much for following God’s adventure in our life. It has been such an amazing experience so far, and I can’t wait to see what all God has in store for us. I am sure there are going to be lots of ups and downs. I plan to share it all! Thank you for your support.

  4. “lovers of the home”. ….stealing that phrase as it is so beautiful and true! you are strong, tamara. brave and courageous. i’m so proud of you. …but i miss you a lot. 😦

Leave a Reply

