asurprisecalling

Following our calling to the Dominican Republic

On being a fisher of men…

Leave a comment

fishersofmen

By Tamara

Let me begin by saying…I know very little about being a fisher of men.

What I do know is this…

As a Christian, that I want everyone to know God’s love…and that His will for our lives is for us to prosper.  I know the peace that I get knowing that HE is in complete control over my life, not ME.  I know the serenity that I get being able to…Let Go and Let God!  I know that He loves me in a way that I can never imagine.

I also know that the Bible states in Matthew 28:19 that we are to go and make disciples of the nations.  In essence, we are to be “fisher of men”.

The only way that I know to do that is to share God’s love and miracles in my life…for me to live out loud to show others His incredible power.  In my fleshly being, this can be difficult.  Fear will set it…fear of being judged.  God never told us that it would be easy…

However, something amazing has happened…

…We are meeting or hearing from people daily that are saying “We saw your testimony and it really touched me/helped me/ convicted me….”

So maybe, being a fisher of men simply means…

Showing people that ME, on my own, can be a complete mess…

…and when I allow God into my  heart and life…

HE will take the worst of ME and add the best of HIM…

beauty_for_ashes_logo3

…and HE will make beauty from ashes !

So…

Go forth today…

…and make disciples by being a fisher of men…

…and showing others what God has done in your life!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I would love to hear how God has changed YOUR life.  What does ‘being a fisher of men’ mean to you?  Please share below!

Leave a Reply

