asurprisecalling

Following our calling to the Dominican Republic

On Community

2 Comments

When I visited La Represa this summer, the one thing that captured my heart was their sense of community.  It is not unusual to see women sitting on one another’s porch drinking coffee or men standing around chatting.  It caused me to long for the days that we lived in the country with my grandparents.  It wasn’t unusual to find us sitting in lawn chairs in the shade of a big oak tree…just chatting with one another or neighbors.  I never realized how important community was…until now…

This sense of community is what I have been looking forward to about moving to the DR.  I have been disheartened about the lack of it here in the states…then this amazing thing happened…

I was beginning to feel very alone in this process…this emptying of stuff and self…this leaving what is known…

Then God began to show me incredible community and kindness…

One Sunday, we were in our attic getting rid of stuff when our doorbell rang.  I opened the door to see a beautiful friend with tears in her eyes saying “I want to be a part of what you are doing.  I believe in you.  I want to know that, when a life is touched in the DR, that a seed that I planted helped make that happen”.  She gave a generous check for our mission.  I truly cannot even begin to express how my heart melted that day…

…how I realized that community is still alive…

We had a garage sale…and so many people came…

…Not to buy stuff but just to sit and chat with us…ALL. DAY. LONG FOR 2 DAYS!!!  Friends from high school…my very first Real Estate client…MANY of my clients and friends and a family member just stopped by to say…

“We believe in you and think this is a wonderful thing that you are doing”

Our neighbors were pulling things out of their house to donate to our cause!!!

I received a call from my office stating that they are trying to organize a benefit auction for us…to help support our mission…

…to love on us…

Then I realized how small we are in this VERY BIG THING that God is doing through us in this community…or, maybe I should say, what God is doing through our community!!! As I type this, I have tears streaming down my face.  I feel so unworthy and so ill-equipped and so unprepared.  I am scared to death because I have no idea how to do this!

There is a sentence in the book Radical by David Platt that states this perfectly..

“He is giving unlikely people his power so it is clear who deserves the glory for the success that takes place”

…Because it is not about US…but what HE can do through us…

2 thoughts on “On Community

  1. I love you girl! You are a constant inspiration! I am here to do whatever you need! You are going to be such a blessing to the ladies of LaRepressa and I have no doubt they will return the favor. You and Mo and Lauren and lexie are chosen for such a time as this! Praying for you daily!!

Leave a Reply

